Search Results for: belo monte

EXTINCTION!!! Memories of the Sunflower Sea Star

A new publication confirms the extirpation and possible extinction of the benthic ecosystem apex predator, the Sunflower Sea Star, Pycnopodia helianthoides, due the combined effects of abnormally warm sea water temperatures coupled with the effects of sea star wasting disease.

03 Feb 6:35 AM 0 Read More...

Creating Nature: PART 1 • INSPIRATION

Finding the path to Nature Aquarium success, a new series with AMAZONAS contributor Steve Waldron of Aquarium Zen.

20 Apr 5:37 PM 4 Read More...

New Fish Species Only YOU Could Love #3: Curimatopsis, Trichomycterus, Corydoras

Recently-described species of tropical freshwater fishes that only the most worthy fish geek could appreciate. Yes, that means you. In this installment: Curimatopsis maculosa, Trichomycterus giarettai, and Corydoras costai

13 Jan 3:13 PM 0 Read More...

The Mind-Bending Nano Aquascape of John Pini

At the 2016 Aquascaping Live! competition, you might say the bar was raised. To be fair, it’s probably more appropriate to say the bar was left a mangled and twisted pile of iron, cast aside by the hands of up-and-comer aquascaper John Pini.

30 Nov 12:18 AM 3 Read More...

AMAZONAS Kudos

Note from a new reader: I picked up a copy of Amazonas Magazine while visiting an aquarium store in Anaheim, California. Amazonas is, hands-down, the best aquarium periodical in print today. I enjoyed the articles, photos, and even the advertisements.

10 Oct 4:39 PM 0 Read More...

Welcome to Our New Site

Meant to provide a big tent for readers of CORAL Magazine, AMAZONAS Magazine, and MICROCOSM Books, this new Reef to Rainforest site reflects the scope and breadth of our subject matter in what we hope is an engaging and user friendly format.

05 Oct 11:39 AM 4 Read More...

A Response To “Crawling to Collapse”

It is with some dismay that I read the responses of Watson, Moe, Wittenrich and Young regarding the article, “Crawling to Collapse: Ecologically Unsound Ornamental Invertebrate Fisheries,” by Rhyne et al. (2009).

05 Apr 11:31 AM 1 Read More...