News & Notes

Welcome to Our New Site

Meant to provide a big tent for readers of CORAL Magazine, AMAZONAS Magazine, and MICROCOSM Books, this new Reef to Rainforest site reflects the scope and breadth of our subject matter in what we hope is an engaging and user friendly format.

05 Oct 11:39 AM 4 Read More...

Great Barrier Reef Losing Coral Cover

“The study shows the Reef has lost more than half its coral cover in 27 years. If the trend continued coral cover could halve again by 2022. Interestingly, the pattern of decline varies among regions. In the northern Great Barrier Reef coral cover has remained relatively stable, whereas in the southern regions we see the most dramatic loss of coral, particularly over the last decade when storms have devastated many reefs. ” says Peter Doherty.

03 Oct 1:22 PM 1 Read More...

AMAZONAS Editor Coming to U.S.

An inveterate world traveler to the native waters of freshwater fishes, Evers has some 50 home aquaria and has “so far” bred more than 250 species in his own tanks. He has collected fish in many countries, including Brazil, Peru, Venezuela, Indonesia, and Papua New Guinea.

03 Oct 11:22 AM 0 Read More...

Zero to Banggai At MACNA

Karen Talbot worked three straight days at the Marine Aquarium Conference of North America in Dallas to complete this oversize painting of a Banggai Cardinalfish, Pterapogon kauderni, that was part of the huge event raffle Sunday afternoon.

02 Oct 1:30 PM 1 Read More...

CORAL Preview: The Clams Are Coming

The last time CORAL featured Giant Clams the issue become one of the bestsellers in the history of the magazine, and today it is still one of the most-treasured collector’s items.

26 Sep 4:15 PM 0 Read More...